Friday, 30 November 2007

Torrelli's Pizzeria

So today we went to Torrelli's Pizzeria as planned. Did the music skills test first at the con together with Derrick, Queenie, Nicola and Andrew. Dickson couldn't come due to some illness. I thought the test was ok, although some parts were a bit unclear. After that we went to the library. I checked out a few scores but I have to check out a few books tomorrow.

After that we went to Central to meet the others. The train journey to Parramatta took just slightly less than half an hour. It was the bus trip that seemed to take ages. We took a T80 bus to Bonnyrigg (where the pizzeria is). It took nearly an hour of bus trip before we get there. And when we did, we still need to walk another 15 minutes or so. It was pretty long journey indeed, by railway, bus and walk!

But it was worth it. When we arrived, a young man greeted us. It was Roberto, one of the worker there, not related to Mario. He knew that we were coming, because Mario told him. He told us that Mario is delivering some pizza. Haha, just the thought of our English teacher morphed into a pizza boy made us chuckle.

Then Mario came back, of course, the whole pizzeria became even noisier than when we first stepped in. All of us shouted, "MARIO!!" And you can see laughs from other people in the room. Oh yeah, Gina, Mario's wife came back first and she is such a charming and bright person.

After ordering our pizzas, we talked more and ate and all of that. During our meal, Mario had to go out and send more pizzas. It seems like that place is pretty busy, and it seems like there were more delivery than eating in.

Nicola, as usual, did embarrassing things. Kept asking Roberto to tell her how to say things in Italian, like "Vostra Ristorante e bellissimo," or "Vorrei un gelato ciocolato per favore," to name a few and excuse the spelling, for I can't really spell Italian.

At the end of the meal we took photos and paid. After a brief chat with Mario outside, we walked back to the stop.

So today was a really fun day!

After that, we went to Dennis' place. A few people drank already but the late comers (us) didn't drink. Good! Played a bit of monopoly, and I lost badly! Queenie won badly! Grr.... Oh well, and then after a few while I just decided to go home. I need rest from today and I need rest for tomorrow!

In that case, g'nite mates.


Mario, Gina and all of us!

Wednesday, 28 November 2007

Capoeira

Yay mum! You bleached your hair! To copper -_- Oh well, at least you like it. Take a pic for me for sure ok!

EDIT: I meant dyed! Where are u the whole time? How come I never see you online anymore, did you block me!?

Well, as usual, I planned to go to the beach, but ended up not going because I missed the bus. Again! ARGH. Nevermind. I will try to go again some other time because I am super busy this month and December, as you can see on my "Things Happening" box.

I skipped Powerhouse today... sigh.. Because I was too tired, and still am. The reason is the title of the blog entry today. I did Capoeira! Yeah, I can see all the gaping mouth of you readers out there! It's very surprising, even for me myself. But I enjoyed it pretty much, kicking the airs, etc. Well I never stop moving anyway, so this thing might be good for me =P

The thing started at 6. Warm ups! And it is not usual warm ups! It's so tiring. Well I haven't done any sports for so long, so this warm up thing is just so tiring for me. We ran in circles, ran sideways, and all sorts. Then we ran on the spot and then sprint to the end and do ten push-ups. Then did that all over again for a few times. And then jumped up and down, etc. Lots of other body killing stuff.

Then we did the sideways thing. Where you go upside down sideways. Then jump over another guy and go under them. Sigh, this was when my right toe's skin just came off. I thought something got under my toe, but as I tried to take it off, I realised that it is my skin! =.=

Then we start the Capoeira. Ginga and stuff. We even did kicks! Pretty hard for me, because I got blistered feet and torn skin. On top of that, I can't balance myself well after the kick. Oh and the kick itself... I couldn't do well too because I can't kick high enough. Haha.

Then we did the defend move. Pretty easy, but pretty tiring! By then my whole body was aching already. So it added up. And then after that we did all three. The ginga position, kick then defend. I don't know the name, I forgot lol.

EDIT: Ginga, then armada and then esquiva.

After that I went to Powerhouse. Man, when I was there I was so tired. 10 minutes after I arrived, I said bye to everyone. Too tired to continue.

And I am going to take a shower now. After that, eat and then sleep. This capoeira thing is tiring me too much, but it's good so that I can have some fitness, at least, move my body lol.

EDIT: The kick is armada and the block thing is esquiva.

ST

More Exams...

Yes, I do look happy, don't I, Steph... But MORE EXAMS!!!! Tomorrow. Derrick just called me after his audition, which went bad according to him, which means it went all right. So, he told me that I can take the musicianship test tomorrow. Queenie, Derrick, Dickson and I already confirmed that we are doing it tomorrow. Nicola and Andrew, don't know yet, but they will most likely be doing it tomorrow at 1pm too.

Derrick mentioned to me that there are a lot of people who are interviewing for the composition program too. I am now a bit worried, but I will leave it to God. I'll do my best and it is His choice whether He wants me to do composition here or not.

Alright, on to the next topic, going to Mario's pizzeria tomorrow! After the bloody exam! Grr. Yeah, it's gonna be cool! Hooray! At least for a while.

Doesn't matter, I'll try to go to the beach again today... =p

Tuesday, 27 November 2007

Piano Exam and Andreas' Last CG This Year

Piano exam... Was pretty exciting actually. I was pretty ok I guess. Toccata was bad though. The last part just messed the entire performance. Liszt was terrific and Mozart was good. We overheard Mr. Wu's conversation with the Con's guy regarding our marks. Apparently I got 25/30 while Queenie got 25.5/30. Haha. For mine, 7.5/10 for Bach, 9/10 for Liszt and 8.5/10 for Mozart. Should have played something I am familiar with, then I might get an extra mark or something =p

Well I am glad that everything is done! After all these, Dickson and I went to Zhu Mama Restaurant thing to eat. It was pretty good IMO. I was really full though.

Then I went to Darling Harbour to have our Connect Group. Andreas' last one before he goes back to Sweden.

Two things happened with the mostly-drunk high school people who were having formals (prom).

Firstly, a guy borrowed Gary's skateboard and handed Gary his booze. Then went on doing flips etc, before finally destroying Gary's skateboard, one wheel came off.


Discussing about Gary's skate?

Well of course Gary got pretty upset and rattled on the whole night about how destroyed his skateboard is.

And then, after the skateboard incident, suddenly I heard a big thump on my left and when I turned my head to the left, I saw this.


Fainted!

Yep, a girl fainted and I am pretty sure (1000%) that it was caused by the bottle of alcohol she held when she fell down. Well, heaps happened in between. Marli, Andreas and a lady tried to help her. A guy came to call the ambulance. But her mates were like, "no don't call the ambulance, don't ****-ing call anyone," etc. And they made her stand up and said nothing is wrong with her and it is normal. Well, then a big huge guy (one of them) came and carried her away.

Kids these days... tsk tsk tsk... So irresponsible. Marli and Andreas (and the other lady) were trying their best to convince them to take her to hospital to at least get her checked (because she fell from a higher place). Oh and Amanda was calling someone already. But these people just don't care about their friend I guess.

After that we went to the foodcourt, not to eat but to talk (only Anggi ate). And then we prayed as usual and took photos.

Here are some photos taken today.

More can be seen at http://gallery.mac.com/steventanoto



While waiting for everyoneAndreas, David and I


Andreas and I


One big happy combined CG-family!

As for the next connectgroup, I am the new leader, but I hope I can have combined CG with Marli.

Libera Me

Libera me, Domine,
de morte aeterna,
in die illa tremenda,
quando coeli movendi sunt et terra,
dum veneris iudicare saeculum per ignem.

Tremens factus sum ego et timeo,
dum discussio venerit atque ventura ira.

Dies illa, dies iræ,
calamitatis, et miseriæ,
dies magna et amara valde.

Requiem æternam dona eis, Domine,
et lux perpetua luceat eis.

Monday, 26 November 2007

Messiah Chorus Practice

After the going-to-the-beach incident, I went to choir practice. The choir seemed so unusually extra draggy all the time tonight. It's almost like the accompanist and the conductor was beating a few millisecond before us (well of course due to the fact that we are slow).

Well, the usual stuff happened, we practiced the whole thing and it ended gorgeously at the Amen Fugue. Oh how I love the music! So, next practice on Saturday will be at Shore School together with everyone! All the massed choir, I think there are two more venues till today, so it should be a lot of people!

I am not exactly excited or looking forward to tomorrow's piano practical. I haven't practiced at all and it is going to be a miracle if I can pull through it without a mess. But I am expecting a miracle! *wishful thinking* And I'm going to thank God for that first! Haha.

Cooking for lunch tomorrow. Should be good, hopefully it's not uncooked.

ST
Fine, I was going. But the bus never came, after waiting for a long while, I decided to go home, eat and practice piano...

What a plan.
After months of saying that I am going to Maroubra beach, I am finally going today.

Sunday, 25 November 2007

Church Today

Well, church was cool. Songs we did:
  1. Jesus Saviour (5pm) / Break Free (7pm)
  2. Love Enough
  3. I Believe (I don't really know the title)
  4. Your Kingdom Reigns
It was pretty amazing I think. I don't know, I just feel like the I Believe song is for me. I don't know why but that's the feeling I have.

Then Brian spoke of being either cold or hot and not lukewarm. Revelation 3 that is, the lukewarm church. Pretty true. Many people are like lukewarm and that isn't useful. When you are lukewarm in your relationship with Jesus, you basically have to be either passionately hot or refreshingly cold (etc.) and not lukewarm as that gets you nowhere. On top of that not as many people can be touched too.

Airin (Irene?) was baptised! That was cool. Then I met Peter again! =P Should have brought my camera, he had a cool green highlights! And he might go back to Newcastle tomorrow. We went to eat dinner with some people, Grace, Gin (Jin?), Andre, etc. at Satay Delicious. Don't ask me why but that restaurant doesn't even serve satay and it is a Chinese restaurant!

Oh yeah, I had to do hospitality for next month. That is going to be exciting and troublesome, but will be great too! I'm glad that Colin is coming back too!

December! I am coming!

Lazarus Died Again

Starting his campaign late, when he did start it, although all may seem to be in a negative condition, Howard did regain some hope. Hailed by the media as Lazarus, who died and was revived by Jesus in the Gospel of John 11:1-44, Howard lost the election that was held yesterday, on Saturday, 24 November.




I have no political stand, but this matter undeniably affects me; because there will be changes in the systems. Through the facts learnt in Australian Studies, I feel a bit sceptical about some of Rudd's policies. And changes will be unavoidable. One can only hope that it will be to the better advantage of everyone. I also reckon that Australia needs a new leader, after having Howard for years!

I slept too late last night, 6:30am, well, it would be better phrased "this morning". And woke up too early too, at 10:30am. The fact that I am going to church to serve later both comforts and intimidate me. Intimidate me because I know it's going to be one helluva night! If you get what I mean. Comforts me because, it's church! Woohoo!

Oh well, maybe I should get ready now.

ST

Saturday, 24 November 2007

Dinner

Oh I cooked dinner. It was a random dish. Chicken + some vegetables and rice. I put too much corn starch and the sauce looked like mucus (thanks Steph). But it tasted good.

Church tomorrow! Yipee.

ST

Lunch - Japo Burger

Made some Japanese burger for lunch just now =P

Here's the pic.


An unconventional way to cook the sides -_-


Yatta!

Well, I went out to buy some stuff we needed and it seems like I gave Cindy the wrong instructions... We ended up fighting and shouting. Hahaha... Coz she put the cabbage in the mix. Ugh. But it was fine in the end, fought for no reason lol.

ST

Schubert String Quintet in C major.



Check this out!

Today

What an eventless day today is. I feel like I have done nothing but sleep, online and eat today. Oh well.

Woke up pretty early today (because Cindy knocked on my door, asking for her umbrella from me, which I borrowed the day before). And then I finished Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon. Was a great movie, I think Michelle Yeoh is really cool. Especially the fight between her and Zhang Ziyi.

Anyway after that I went to buy my lunch and watched Pursuit of Happyness. Ended up crying like a baby. It was such a moving movie. I recommend that movie to anyone.

Anyway, after that I felt too tired and so I just slept, it was around 3pm when I slept and 8pm when I woke up. Ugh, that was bad. I woke up thinking it was already so late (morning), but 8pm is late enough!

Went to buy food and groceries at Coles, and I'm going to sleep now.

Nothing at all to think today. Today is the most unproductive day indeed (though, I did practice the piano a bit).

ST

Thursday, 22 November 2007

Music theory exam yesterday... ugh, I lost like 4 marks coz of a silly mistake! Italian 6th, and I wrote Neapolitan 6th. Doesn't matter.

Anyway, aside from the fact that I bought 3 DVDs and I bought a book, today was a pretty uneventful day. Boring indeed. Morning was spent playing the fightclub stuff on facebook and chatted away with my mates.

I don't even know what to do tomorrow, besides the 10 hour piano practice of course *cough cough*.

Oh yeah, Powerhouse yesterday was awesome too, Carl Lenz brought the word. He is from the US. Said something about how to keep being passionate. And touched the topic "Your Mama".

I'm currently composing a Requiem, I guess I'm on to that "morbid" mood again. But honestly, I enjoy being morbid! It's lovely. Not only that, it feels good being melancholic. I enjoy being sad too. There is this strong fire that burns in my heart when I feel so, and it feels somewhat "pleasurable". lol, whatever. First part done, Requiem Aeternam.

Alright, will cya on the next post then. I'm going to watch my movie!

Tuesday, 20 November 2007

Monday's Exams

Today, had two three-hour exams! On top of that a three hour rehearsal on Messiah.

Anyway, exams feedback first. It was great! They were pretty easy, as in I could write most and I could answer most problems. Pretty great! Indeed! Because I honestly did not do much revising.

Messiah! Great, we did the whole thing again, but in slightly better detail. It was fun.

And now here I am, updating at 2:16AM! Aiyo!!!!! Gotta sleep.


Movie Watched: Sunshine
Movie Watching: Elizabeth
Movie to be Watched: Elizabeth, the wateva age.

Sunday, 18 November 2007

Maths and Australian Studies

Hey, updating to tell you guys that church was awesome! Catherine Caine spoke and the praise n worship was beautiful.

Hmm, somehow I'm not studying for exams well. But somehow I feel pretty confident! I think it's because I'm a happy-go-lucky person that doesn't even realise that I'm going to die tomorrow during the exam. But, I'll be fine, and I know it!

Because I have a lively heart and spirit and I am not listening to the voices of worry and negativity!

Oh well, I'm going to sleep now. G'nite

ST

Saturday, 17 November 2007

Exams

Alright, time to start studying, no?
I am going to die on Monday if I don't.

Alright then. Wish me all the best!

Rachmaninoff Concert

It was awesome. The pianist was quite good, but could be better. Ashkenazy was wonderful! I just found out that the Symphonic Dances is a really great work of Rachmaninoff, one that many people overlooked.

This was supposed to be uploaded yesterday, but I fell asleep.

So there you go.

Friday, 16 November 2007

Exams

I decided to use blogspot again. For some unknown reason.

Today's the first day of exams! Well, only English but still. Instead of reading on the topics or the template for discussion essay etc., I am on blogspot making a new blog. How ridiculous.

Anyway, Rachmaninoff 3 concert tonight. It's going to be pretty interesting. Can't wait to watch that (with Anggi and Queenie).

Powerhouse two days ago was madness. Kudzi was there, that's why. During praise, the moss pit was crazier than usual. Kudzi even asked me to go on the stage and jump to the crowds; so I did, crowd surfed all right.

The worship is also phenomenal, I don't know why but it was different.

Anyway, that's all for this morning.